The Sedaris Empire

9 Jan
Me Talk Pretty One Day

Image via Wikipedia

I love David Sedaris and Amy Sedaris. The wit. The way they don’t temper their comments. Amy is ridiculous. Brilliant. David’s writing makes me feel like I’m drunk on a combination of wit, awe, and hysteria. The poignancy he weaves into his stories will sneak up on you and might even make you cry. If you’re a crybaby. Which I am.

Anyone who doesn’t find them funny is lacking in the intelligence department.

Read Naked or Me Talk Pretty One Day if you’re up for your sides to split wide open.

Amy’s latest book, Simple Times: Crafts for Poor People, is genius, too.

Some links for your viewing pleasure:

6 Responses to “The Sedaris Empire”

  1. the domestic fringe January 10, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    I just saw the Crafts for Poor People book in Barnes & Nobles the other night. SO funny!

  2. (you have no idea who you're dealing with) January 10, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    The Domestic Fringe – I love Amy Sedaris’ sense of humor. Very smart and, of course, hilarious.

  3. Angela January 13, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    They do seem hilarious in a great witty way! I haven’t read their books or anything – I think Amy’s new book -Crafts for Poor People sounds fun and hilarious -I’m a little out of the loop I 1st heard about it when she was on Bravo -Watch What Happens – awhile back 🙂

  4. (you have no idea who you're dealing with) January 13, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    Angela, if you get a chance David’s books are worth a look. Funny…

  5. brandy January 13, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    came over from RHOK. Obviously I’m living in la la land because I didn’t realize I was missing out on so much awesomeness (books AND your blog)

  6. (you have no idea who you're dealing with) January 13, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    Brandy – thank you so much. Seriously appreciated. I bet you’ll like David’s books – one of my friends rolls his eyes at me about my love for Mr. Sedaris (who is most assuredly not interested in me, as he has a boyfriend… which makes me want to hang out with him even more).

Leave a Reply

