Smug

21 Dec

Smug? Smug.

It turns out that my physical therapist is particularly kind and unassuming resulting in a slight adjustment in my plans to get him to loosen up, but don’t fret. He has made eye contact with me numerous times and today he laughed a couple of times – he is completely shocked into laughter when I say the simplest things. He did seem kind of defensive today, though, now that I think about it.

He told me about a Christmas gift (clothing) he bought for his “beautiful and sweet” wife who “looks great in anything”. Why the “beautiful”? I mean it’s very endearing if you’re his wife, but to everyone else it comes across as if he’s trying to convince us. Who, in passing, says “My gorgeous husband who makes me laugh everyday – EVERYDAY – is perfect. We are always just so happy. And I love him. I really do. And what was I going to tell you? Oh yeah… I’m buying him some new pants for Christmas.”

Bless his sweet heart. I think. But guess what else… I taught him a new word today.

I mentioned my opinion about a woman who is smug. He said “Ma’am?” (he really did… he always does). I said:

“What?”

“What does that word mean?”

“Smug? Oh. It means… ummm… that someone is self-satisfied,” which was not enough information for him and he really wanted more. Several other people were watching us and listening, in what I assume to be shock that he didn’t just pretend he knew what it meant. Some bad acting on my part followed (it’s hard to explain smug without making that face… you know, with lips half pursed/half smiling, arms crossed).

“Oh. Like ‘It’s what I say and that’s it?'”

“Yes.”

“I have never heard that word used before.”

“Really?”

“Yep.”

It makes me tired just thinking of it… yes, I could have gone on to explain it better, but to what end? His basic grasp will be just enough for him to label people. Like me, it appears from this post.

All for now… Adios.

3 Responses to “Smug”

  1. Kingham December 21, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    I’ve always called being “self-satisfied” something else. The act at least.

    But that, I suppose, is a story for another time.

  2. (you have no idea who you're dealing with) December 21, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    I was this close to falling for it.

  3. Unimpressed May 30, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

    YOU sound smug. You sound quite “self-satisfied” with your judgments and musings about an individual who has a high level of education as well as a lucrative career serving others. You couldn’t wait to get on here and tell us all how smart you are for teaching that sweet little simpleton something! This undoubtedly stems from a long history of insecurity and feelings of inadequacy. Get off your high horse. Bitch.

Leave a Reply

