Broken Bones

6 Dec

So Kelly Ripa apparently showed up on the Regis and Kelly show today with crutches. She explained she had a femoral neck stress fracture and would have to hold off on exercising for 3 to 6 weeks. She also said her situation “looks much worse than it is” (read more here). This pissed me off.

I am just now in week 2 of physical therapy after experiencing the same injury, which I acquired as a result of running. I was out of the game for 4 months. FOUR MONTHS. I am now able to ride a stationary bike for 15 minutes and other random crap, like leg lifts. My orthopedic doctor told me I should be back to running by April 2011.

I wasn’t on crutches the entire 4 months – more like 8 weeks – I used to think people on crutches with no obvious injury were attention-seeking and pathetic. What a bitch I was (fine, I still am – just not about the crutches thing anymore). But that’s not the point.

The point is that a femoral neck stress fracture is much worse than it looks. It doesn’t look like anything to the casual observer… in fact there’s no cast, no boot, no nothin’. Just a breaking bone that takes a very long time to heal, due in part to the limited blood flow in that part of the body. This is the same bone that, if the stress fracture completes, people are referring to when they say “broken hip” or “that old lady broke her hip, you know what that means”. Yes. She’s circling the drain.

Actually, I didn’t really make a point, did I? Whatever. I just needed to let all 14 people who read my blog know that I’m no wimp and little miss 3-weeks-until-I-can-pound-the-pavement-again must be on crack.

Have a nice day.

3 Responses to “Broken Bones”

  1. amy December 7, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I’m cracking up OUT LOUD. I also guess I’m one of the fortunate 14……everyone else is missing out.
    3 weeks~my ass.

  2. (you have no idea who you're dealing with) December 7, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    Thanks ABT!

  3. robertmusgrove January 3, 2014 at 1:11 am #

    Reblogged this on Accident At Work Compensation Claim Solicitors and commented:
    Do you know how much compensation you could be owed for the injuries you sustained as a result of NHS negligence? Have you been involved in a similar situation and would you like to find out how much compensation you could be entitled to receive for NHS negligence? If you would like to initiate legal proceedings or if you would like to find out how much compensation you could be entitled to for NHS negligence, contact Medical Claim Experts as soon as possible on (0844) 844 9860.
    medicalnegligenceclaimsolicitors.co.uk/cstudies/how-much-compensation-for-missed-fracture.aspx

Leave a Reply

