Stay With Me Here

13 Nov
Lance Robertson (aka DJ Lance Rock from Yo Gab...

Image via Wikipedia

Ahem.

I am incredibly proud to be the one to share this with you. Some of you undoubtedly know of it already, but those of you who do not are about to be exposed to a whole new world. A world of cool tricks, lessons learned, and beautiful dancey dances. The world of Yo Gabba Gabba.

To refer to it as a children’s show is pushing the limit, but based on the ads for Pillow Pets during the show, that is the target audience. Following are titles to some of the song and dance routines:

“Don’t Eat Me, I’m Dirty”
“I Like Bugs”
“Kites Are Fun”
“There’s a Party In My Tummy”

Assuming you don’t have all day to watch Yo Gabba Gabba episodes, I’m happy to share these lyrics from the brilliantly entitled “Don’t Bite Your Friends”:

Don’t bite your friends. Don’t bite your friends. Don’t. Don’t. Don’t. Don’t bite your friends. We don’t wanna bite. We don’t wanna fight. ‘Cause that’s not right. Bite. Bite. Bite. No. No. No. Chomp. Chomp. Chomp. [he’s eating food here, kids… he is NOT biting his friends…and “he”, for the record, is a giant rubbery red bumpy one-eyed phallic character] Yes. Yes. Yes.

Truly… ad nauseum.

I kept thinking I must be the only adult who thought it was hilariously bizarre… until one day Jack Black appeared as a special guest. Then Supernova. The Roots. Tony Hawk. Biz Markie. Jimmy Eat World. So I guess what I’m saying is I wasn’t the only one.

I realize soon I will lose you to the links calling for you below, but first let me say if anyone can teach kids how to razzle dazzle, it’s Leslie Hall. I should know. I’ve watched it a hundred times.

Dancey Dance…

Cool Tricks!

Don’t Bite Your Friends (don’t don’t don’t)

5 Responses to “Stay With Me Here”

  1. Km November 13, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    Hand music?

  2. (you have no idea who you're dealing with) November 14, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    Hand music!

  3. Kingham December 2, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    Mommy, what does phallic mean?

    That lady said Muno looks phallic.

    Oh, he doesn’t?

    Mommy, what does dildo mean?

  4. Kingham December 2, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    Ummmm…is this blog R-rated?

    If not, the previous comment from my account was not me.

    I must have been hacked.

  5. (you have no idea who you're dealing with) December 2, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    Phallic and dildo. Did I say dildo? I must re-read. Also, I just now noticed your favorite things. You must be so embarrassed.

    And no, it is rated PG. Kids are more likely to read it if it’s rated R anyway. Maybe I’ll change it to drum up some new hits.

Leave a Reply

